Tsukiji Fish Market

I went to the Tsukiji Fish Market in Tokyo really early in the morning to see the Tuna Auction. The Tuna Auction area is world famous and been mentioned in many travel guide books. When I visited Tsukiji before, one of the tourists told me that many famous food authors considered Tsukiji the best place to get sushi. I checked to make sure that the market is open on Saturday and went there.

The auction area in Tsukiji is open to visitors from 5:00am to 6:15am (restricted to 140 visitors/day) so I had to get there really early. I recorded this video of the Tuna auction:

After the auction, I went and stood in line to go a place called 大和 (Dai Wa – there is another reading way but I think Dai Wa is the correct one). The place next to it is called 寿司大 (Sushi Dai) and I visited it on my last trip to Tsukiji. Overall, I would say that Sushi Dai is better even though the wait line at Dai Wa is longer.

Here are some pics:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

